India Name 12-Member Squad For The First T-20 Against West Indies

| 3 months ago

Team India have announced their 12-member squad for the first T-20 game against West Indies at Eden Gardens on Sunday. Rohit Sharma will be leading the side as the stand-in captain, with Skipper Virat rested for the series.

The squad includes both the keepers i.e., Dinesh Kartik and Rishabh Pant, however, the team might not go with both of them as Krunal Pandya(the only all-rounder in the side) who features in the squad will mark his T-20 debut for India on Sunday.

The list also includes K.Rahul who will most –probably bat at number three, with Manish Pandey joining him in the number four position.

India opted three seamers and two spinners for the first game which includes Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Among the Four players who feature in the squad but didn’t find a place in the 12-member squad are Washington Sundar, Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Nadeem, and Umesh Yadav.

Earlier, former Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was found left out of the squad for the first time since he took over the captaincy back in 2007. Dhoni’s ouster has caused quite a stir in the country with Dhoni’s supporters lashing out at the selectors.

However, the chief selector MSK Prasad cited that this is not the end of MS in T20’s. The decision has been taken to pick the second keeper slot looking ahead at the World Cup.


"Dhoni is not going to play the six T20Is because we're looking at the second 'keeper slot. It is not the end of Dhoni in T20s," MSK Prasad said