MS Dhoni Dropped, Rishabh Pant Included For T20 Series Against West Indies, Australia

| 3 months ago

The selection committee headed by MSK Prasad took some unobvious decisions on Friday when they announced the 16 member squad for West Indies and Australia series. Indian former skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been reportedly dropped for the T20 series against West Indies and Australia.

Since the 37-year-old batsman took the charge to lead India back in 2007, this has been the first time the former captain has been dropped from a series and obviously, it has come out as a shocker to many. However, the chief selector MSK Prasad cited that this is not the end of MS in T20’s. The decision has been taken to pick the second keeper slot looking ahead at the World Cup.

"Dhoni is not going to play the six T20Is because we're looking at the second 'keeper slot. It is not the end of Dhoni in T20s," MSK Prasad said.

For the third time, Rohit Sharma has been handed the opportunity lead the side with Kohli opting to rest for the three-match T20 series against West Indies. However, latter will be back to lead the side in the T20series against Australia.

The other additions except for the two keepers in T 20 series against West Indies are Shreyas Iyer, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, and Shahbaz  Nadeem. The ones to miss out from the previous T20 squad were Suresh Raina, Deepak Chahar, and Siddarth Kaul.

Indian all-rounder Hardik Pandya will not be available till 15th November owing to his back injury. He's [Hardik] not yet recovered. As of now, till November 15th he is actually not (available), we'll have to see after that,"       

India squad for West Indies T20Is: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem

India squad for Australia T20Is: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed