Cricket Australia upholds bans on Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft

Tanuja Saikhom | 3 months ago

Cricket Australia has decided not to reduce the punishment on the banned players Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft in the ball-tempering case. Smith, captain at the time, and Warner, his vice-captain, were suspended for 12 months and Bancroft, who carried out the cheating, for nine under CA's Code of Conduct for tampering the ball with sandpaper against South Africa in Cape Town in March.

The decision came after the Australian Cricketers' Association (ACA) requested the board to lift the bans, saying the players had "already been punished enough."

In a statement, the players’ association said, “CA's sanctions on the players were excessive.”

In response to the call, the CA interim chair Earl Eddings said that "it is not appropriate to make any changes to the sanctions".

“The original decision of the Board to sanction the players was determined after rigorous discussion and consideration. CA maintains that both the length and nature of the sanctions remain an appropriate response in light of the considerable impact on the reputation of Australian cricket, here and abroad,” Eddings said.

Since the bans, Australia lost a one-day series in England 5-0, a two-match Test series against Pakistan 1-0, and T20 against Pakistan 3-0.