What To Expect From India- Australia T-20 Series

| 3 months ago

The much-anticipated series of the year, India-Australia T-20 series 2018 will kick off today as world’s number two India will face the Australians in the first T-20 of the three-match series on Wednesday. Leading from the front Virat Kohli will look to replicate the performance they showcased the last time they visited Australia, outclassing them 3-0.

Considering the situation Australian cricket has been going through at the moment, Australian side isn’t looking the best of the sides to compete, however, the Finch led side would certainly not let India win games so easily at their home. Perhaps, Aaron Finch’s side might have lost last four T-20 matches, which include 3-0 whitewash against World number two side Pakistan, their record at home in T-20’s is nothing short of impressive. In the last four T-20 that they have played at home, they haven't lost a single one of them. 

Looking at the batsmen from both the sides, India’s top three has been in prime form since last two years, with three of them sitting in the top five ICC batsman ranking. Former skipper MS Dhoni has been left out the squad while Dinesh Kartik and Rishabh Pant along with Rahul and Manish Pandey will look to strengthen the middle order this time. On the other hand, Australian side will play this time without the services of Smith and Warner owing to the ball-tampering scandal, while Aaron Finch will look to lead a side which is certainly lacking confidence at the moment.

For Australia to trouble the Indian side, the batsmen have to pull up their socks as soon as possible, considering the fact that the skipper Finch hasn’t reached a single double-figure mark in his last five T-20’s. Along with Finch, the batting armory includes the likes of Chris Lynn, Maxwell, D’Arcy short etc. To say the least, none of them haven’t made any lasting impact lately with their batting in the International cricket for Australia.

Australia’s pace-battery will be spearheaded by Nathon-Coulter-Nile, Andrew-tye, Behrendorff, and Billy Stanlake. Arguably, Behrendorff would certainly be the best bid for Australia who will look to once again replicate the performance(4-21) he did in India two years ago.

Indian bowling line up doesn’t have any surprises with Bumrah leading the back along with Bhuveneshwar, Umesh Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Kuldeep, and Chahal.

Indian Squad for first T-20: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Kartik, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuveneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal.