IAAF Announces Finalists For Female World Athlete Of The Year 2018

Tanuja Saikhom | 10 months ago

The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) on Tuesday revealed the names of the five finalists for the 2018 Female Athlete of the Year award. The male and female World Athletes of the Year awards ceremony is to be held on 4 December in Monaco.

“The five athletes, who represent five countries from four Area associations, have illustrated excellence across nearly all athletics disciplines in 2018,” said IAAF on its website.

European 100m, 200m and 4x100m champion Dina Asher-Smith of Great Britain was among the five finalists. She also won gold for 4x100m and bronze in 200m in the Commonwealth Games.

Continental Cup 1500m Champion Beatrice Chepkoech from Kenya, and three times winner of 400m champ Bahamian Shaunae Miller-Uibo.

American and Caribbean long jump and triple jump champion Caterine Ibarguen and European high jump and heptathlon champion Nafissatou Thiam of Belgium are also shortlisted for the awards.

A three-way voting process determined the finalists.

The IAAF Council’s vote counted for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes each counted for 25% of the final result.

The male finalists will be announced on Tuesday, the 20 November.