Rupinder Singh, SV Sunil Not Included In India’s Hockey World Cup Squad 

| 7 months ago

India’s experience forwards namely SV Sunil and Ramandeep have not been included in the 18-member squad announced by Hockey India for the upcoming Hockey Men’s World Cup to be held in Bhubaneswar from 28th November. Also, India’s fullback Rupinder Pal Singh has also been omitted from the squad, reads the press release posted by Hockey India on Thursday.

While players such as Ramandeep Singh and Sunil haven’t able to make into the list because of leg and Knee injury respectively, defender Rupinder Singh has been perhaps left out owing to his poor form lately.  The management, however, hasn’t cited any reasons regarding the exclusion of the aforementioned players.

The 18-member squad includes defender Birender Lakra, who is making a comeback into the team after being missed out of the Asian Champions Trophy. Other prominent names include Amit Rohidas, Surender Kumar, and Kothajit Singh.

India midfielder Sandeep Singh will lead the side once again who will replace PR Sreejesh as skipper going ahead at the world cup.

India is placed in group C which also includes world number three Belgium, South Africa, and Canada. India will meet South Africa in the opening match on 29 November. The final will be held on on16  December.

"We have chosen the best available combinations for the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018. We had to make some tough decisions to select 18 out of a very strong pool of 34 players. The final 18 are a mix of experienced and youth and have been selected on the basis of their current form and fitness. These players have consistently shown their potential in the lead up to the showpiece event and I am confident India will put up a fighting performance,” asserted Chief Coach Harendra Singh. 

INDIA SQUAD: Manpreet Singh (Captain), Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Vice Captain), P R Sreejesh, Krishan Bahadur Pathak, Harmanpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Varun Kumar, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Nilakanta Sharma, Hardik Singh, Sumit, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay,Simranjeet Singh